the kinetic pen

wired by words

Flash Fiction Challenge: Fruit

11 Comments

My recent foray into flash fiction wasn’t as short-lived as I imagined it to be, as I’m now seemingly addicted to writer Charli Mills’ weekly Flash Fiction Challenge.

The latest prompt:
In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story that includes fruit. It can be mythological, metaphorical or realistic. Think of fruit as a way to create tension, add a twist or something unexpected to your story. Use it to define a character or make it her obsession. Is it abundant, absent or desired?

My entry:
Dabs of red nail polish line the tips of the old woman’s white sandals.

“Grandma, did you paint your toes with your shoes on?” Anna asks.

The grandmother turns her head, looking sheepish. “I guess I should take them off next time,” she answers. Her feet dangle off the edge of the examination table, her ankles creased and swollen below the hem of her dress, her toes curled into each other. She’s quiet as she waits for the doctor.

Anna can’t think of anything to talk about. She can’t stop staring at those feet, those heels like wrinkled peaches.

Author: thekineticpen

Freelance journalist working on a narrative nonfiction book about a woman who, after the freak death of her husband, decides to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro to deal with her grief and finds a second chance at love.

11 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Challenge: Fruit

  1. What a beautiful scene that captures the female longing to be beautiful, the realities of growing older and the complexities between generations of women. And you did all that with a peach and 99 words! I’m so glad you’re addicted. 😉

  2. I don’t know whether to laugh or cry, and for whom. Great flash. The peach was unexpected. I had thought maybe she had been stomping on grapes in her shoes!!!! What a clever, original and powerful image though. Well done. 🙂

  3. I know heels that are just as you described but I would never have thought of describing them as wrinkled peaches. Just perfect. Great flash

  4. Kind of sad, kind of sweet. Beautiful. I love it.

  5. Thank you! Your opinion always means a lot to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

