the kinetic pen

wired by words

How Poetry Lifts the Spirit

4 Comments

Today I’m thankful for this beautiful Hopi prayer, dedicated to my mother-in-law, who can now “sleep with the angels” a little more closely:

Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there, I do not sleep
I am the thousand winds that blow
I am the diamond glint in the snow
I am the sunlight on the ripened grain
I am the autumn’s gentle rain.
When you awaken in the morning hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight
I am the soft stars that shine at night
Do not stand at my grave and cry
I am not there
I did not die.

Author: thekineticpen

Freelance journalist working on a narrative nonfiction book about a woman who, after the freak death of her husband, decides to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro to deal with her grief and finds a second chance at love.

4 thoughts on “How Poetry Lifts the Spirit

  1. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss, Robin. I have found consolation in this Hopi poem as well. Take care

Leave a Reply

