the kinetic pen

wired by words

What Would a List About Yourself Say?

Leave a comment

It’s almost a new year, and I’m not much for creating resolutions, so I’m going to look backward instead.

2013 has been so sweet to me, both personally and professionally. The even sweeter thing is that writing is prominent in both categories. That got me thinking about how much of my identity is wrapped up in this craft I get to call a business. As a consummate list maker, I started one to see how I identify with myself as a journalist and creative writer, but it quickly evolved into a much more expansive list (in theme, anyway), one that I’ve decided to share in case it serves as inspiration for your own list.

Lists are key in life, you know. They help you do what you want to do. We all forget sometimes, after all, and even when we don’t forget but we WANT to forget, the list is right there, reminding us of what we in fact really DO want to do. Make sense?

With a list like the one below, there are no specific goals attached, although they do tend to pop up afterward, if you’re really craving something to focus on in 2014. The stream-of-consciousness approach to making one of these babies winds up bringing to the forefront areas in which you rock, and areas that need improvement. 

So, here we go. 

I…

love the way words make music

record way too many details

feel energy coming out of my fingers when I type

get excited by fine-point pens and high-quality paper

laugh easily

pick things up when I drop them

sometimes say things people don’t want to hear

dream about a house on the beach

should recite my mantra more often (“Know what you want. Work hard to get it. Accept what comes next.”)

am blessed to have more opportunities than I can handle

just finished 18 deadlines in 28 days

am a mother who needs to learn not to take scrappy, age-appropriate behavior so personally

find joy in putting things in their proper places

feel compelled to smell the pages of old books

look tirelessly for a way to make something work when it feels right

Off the bat, from what I just recorded, I’d say I could choose my words more carefully when I speak, take deeper breaths when I want to become defensive, and continue clarifying my vision for the types of writing projects I want to pursue.

And now that it’s gone from my head to the page, I can’t forget.

Do you make lists? Are you up for writing a quick one to see what comes up?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: thekineticpen

Freelance journalist working on a narrative nonfiction book about a woman who, after the freak death of her husband, decides to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro to deal with her grief and finds a second chance at love.

Leave a Reply

