the kinetic pen

wired by words

From Book to Film Screen

Leave a comment

 

I read this week that Fox Searchlight has acquired worldwide rights to the screen adaptation of Cheryl Strayed’s 2012 best-selling memoir Wild – and that Reese Witherspoon is going to portray the author. “I’m thrilled about this news!” Strayed tweeted after the announcement.

An understatement, I’d guess.

Ah, what a dream. Even though I don’t have to try very hard to visualize the book I’m writing on the big screen – it’s about love, loss and second chances, after all – there are a heck of a lot of milestones to reach before that comes close to happening. The first of which is to keep plugging away, day by day, until the darn thing’s finished. (Baby steps, people.)

Still, I’m inspired by Strayed’s good fortune. And I’ve moved my copy of Wild to a prominent spot near my desk. Maybe some of her mojo will rub off on me…

Author: thekineticpen

Freelance journalist working on a narrative nonfiction book about a woman who, after the freak death of her husband, decides to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro to deal with her grief and finds a second chance at love.

Leave a Reply

