the kinetic pen

wired by words

Uninterrupted Writing Time

Leave a comment

Those are three magical words.

A few weeks ago, to get ahead on my book, I spent a weekend at Omega, a mind-body-spirit retreat center in Rhinebeck, N.Y. After a morning yoga class and breakfast, I’d haul my laptop and note-filled messenger bags to the cafe, where I’d write until closing time at 11 p.m. – stopping only for lunch and dinner. It was wonderful. No laundry to wash, no meals to make, no dog to walk. I have a weekly word count quota (personally imposed), and in the 2.5 days I was there, I wrote 12 days’ worth of words.

My husband took my daughter camping this morning so that I could have the house to myself and attempt another sunup-to-sundown writing spree. It’s now shortly after lunch and so far, so good. The living room floor is covered with piles of paper, paper clips and highlighters, and I’m sitting on a meditation cushion at the coffee table, typing away. The place is a mess. A sure sign of progress.

Some people work better in small bursts. I tend to do that in my professional writing life, especially when on deadline with multiple projects, but with a story this size, I need uninterrupted writing time to “stay in the flow,” as one friend puts it.

What about you? Do you produce more or less when there’s no immediate time crunch?

Author: thekineticpen

Freelance journalist working on a narrative nonfiction book about a woman who, after the freak death of her husband, decides to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro to deal with her grief and finds a second chance at love.

Leave a Reply

